Week 15 – Design Thinking Applied to Life

3 Possible Future Me’s

For this week’s activity, I had to explore some of the possible careers I could have in the future. I am glad we had to do this activity because I have actually been thinking a lot about my future lately. So here are some of the things that I have been thinking about…

1. The thing you currently think you’ll be doing with your life.

As a first year at CSULB, I arrived as a Marine Biology major. I was proud to be a Marine Biology major because I loved spending most of my time outdoors. However, that was obviously not the only thing I had to do in order to become a Marine Biologist. I did not realize how difficult this major would actually be until I took Chemistry last semester. I began looking at things realistically and kept questioning if I was really passionate about this major. Turns out, I was not. This is where I began to look at my other options. I went to multiple advising centers on campus and even talked to my own advisor. It took me about two to three months to really find what I was really good at. Growing up, I was always good at math and it was always my favorite class. I never wanted to follow my parents dreams of me becoming an engineer or a teacher but that is exactly what I was going to take on. However, they were not forcing me to do it but instead I made the decision on my own. I am glad to say that I will now be majoring in Mechanical Engineering. I hope one day to land an internship that will lead me to my career. As of right now, I am just trying to gain as much knowledge and experience as I can.

2. The thing you would do if the current thing disappeared tomorrow.

I highly doubt that my future career will go away anytime soon, but if it did I would probably become a teacher. I’ve honestly always had an interest in becoming a teacher but I don’t think I would have the patience for it. However, if I had the opportunity to become a teacher or professor, I would definitely take it. The subject I would love to teach would obviously math. Why? I feel like most kids today don’t like math and just don’t understand it and I think the person teaching has to do a lot with those reasons. I was fortunate enough to have great math teachers and professors growing up but for those who didn’t, obviously struggle more. That is probably one of the main reasons why I would like to become a teacher but other than that, I think it’s a great job.

3. The thing you would do if you were financially secure, and no one would ever laugh, go ahead, what would it be?

For my dream job, I would love to travel more than anything. However, I would love to travel around the world for music festivals only. I follow a lot of artists on social media and they are always posting pictures and videos of their concerts and I honestly love everything about their posts. They usually tag their photographers in their pictures and I end up looking at that person’s work for hours and hours. I never ever get tired or bored of looking at all the pictures and videos. So I would most definitely love to film and edit concert footage from music festivals. There would be no better job than to travel and just take pictures and make endless videos of my experience. To get paid would be just a bonus but if I was financially stable and could do that I definitely would, no doubt.

Leave a Reply

