Week 14 – Sketching in the CSULB Japanese Garden

FullSizeRender.jpg-2.jpeg

For this week’s activity we had to sketch at the Japanese Garden here at Long Beach. I actually had never visited the Japanese Garden until we had to this activity. I really enjoyed visiting the Japanese Garden because it was so peaceful and it was a good environment to sketch at.

Right above are some of the first few drawings that I sketched. I actually really enjoyed this activity because I used to sketch when I was younger. Unfortunately, I stopped sketching when I got to high school because I was really busy with sports and club activities. However, I still think sketching is quite amazing. I actually am not a fan of coloring because I do not have patience to get the perfect color scheme so I would rather just sketch. Most of my drawings that I sketched were very simple and items from the garden. There were a lot of beautiful things at the garden but I decided to sketch the things that stood out the most. I have to say that my favorite sketch is the one of the tree. I know it is very simple but I like the fact that it’s just simple and how the sketching gives it texture. That is what I truly love about sketching.

All in all, I really enjoyed this week’s activity! It brought back so many memories and it was also so relaxing. So glad I got to be a part of this experience.

Leave a Reply

